Trio of former councillors honoured

Cyril Bailey, Roy Dixon and Joe Roper
Cyril Bailey, Roy Dixon and Joe Roper made honorary aldermen


Three former councillors who between them served Blaby district for 80 years were made honorary aldermen at a special council meeting on May 24.

Cyril Bailey, Roy Dixon and Joe Roper were given the honour after stepping down from their long political careers at the local elections on 5th May 2011.

The trio join 11 others who have received the title since 1974.

88-year-old Cyril Bailey was first elected to the Council in 1967 and served as a Conservative councillor for 44 years, representing the Stanton and Flamville ward, which covers Sharnford, Sapcote and Stoney Stanton.

Councillor Ernie White, leader of Blaby District Council said:

“As a local publican Cyril was always in pole position to know what was going on in his patch and he was so dedicated to improving his local community so it’s fantastic that his hard work has been recognised.”

Roy Dixon, 83, joined the Council 16 years ago and represented the Ravenhurst and Fosse ward, which covers Braunstone Town. He was also the authority’s first Labour chairman from 1997-1998.

Councillor Phil Fox said:

“Roy is extremely well respected by his constituents and they will miss his huge input, as I and the rest of the Council will.”

Former Liberal Democrat councillor Joe Roper, 76, was first elected in 1991 and represented the Blaby South ward.  He also served on Blaby Parish Council for 33 years and was made chairman eight times.

Councillor Geoff Welsh said:

“Blaby village would be a poorer community without Joe, there are few people in the village who have given so much or represented so many.”


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.