Tag Archives: Simon Gresswell

Musical Director Simon Gresswell leads Enderby Band to competition success

enderby band simon gresswell with trophy
Simon Gresswell

Simon Gresswell’s tenure as musical director of the Enderby Band started in the best possible fashion after the band were awarded 1st place in the inaugural Bolsover Brass in the Bandstand contest on July 12th.

The band’s website reports that they played a varied 30-minute concert programme which included three pieces of original music, as well as crowd-pleasing favourites.

Adjudicator, Glyn Williams praised the band’s attention to the basics of band playing, as well as their overall sound, closing his remarks by stating that he felt it was “a performance that had everything”.

An elated Simon said after the results:

“I’ve won many trophies but none has given me as much pride as my first win as conductor. The band deserves enormous credit as they beat some good competition today, and I’d like to thank them for their hard work and dedication”

A spokesman for the band commented:

“We’re all absolutely delighted with the result today. Obviously it’s a terrific start under Simon’s direction, but what is especially pleasing is Glyn Williams’ praise for our attention to the basics of good playing, which is something Simon has been really concentrating on over the last six weeks. Its great to see that Simon’s hard work is already paying dividends”

The band is now busy preparing for the remainder of its summer concert commitments, and two prestigious appearances at Leicester’s Curve Theatre and DeMontfort Hall in the Autumn, as well as resuming competition at the Wychavon Festival of Brass.

Screenshot 2015-08-04 at 15.13.52 - Edited
The winning team!

Shirebrook Winning Programme:
Enter the Galaxies (Paul Lovatt-Cooper)
A Little Prayer (Evelyn Glennie arr. Robert Childs)
Share My Yoke – Cornet Solo: Sean Doughty (Joy Webb arr. Ivor Bosanko)
With Fire and Sword (Peter Graham)
Deep Harmony (Handel Parker arr. A Broadhead)
American Salute (Morton Gould arr. Simon Kerwin)
The Irish Blessing (Joyce Bacak arr. Stephen Bradnum)
Phoenix (Peter Graham)