2013 Parliamentary Boundary Review


The 2013 Boundary Commission Review of Parliamentary constituency boundaries will introduce substantial changes. It will reduce the number of constituencies in England from 533 to 502 and make sure that each constituency has a similar number of registered electors.

This consultation on the initial proposals will run from 13th September 2011 to 5th December 2011.

The East Midlands region has been allocated 44 constituencies – a reduction of two from the current arrangement.

There will be some changes to the Blaby constituency parliamentary boundary. We will gain Earl Shilton, Burbage Sketchley and Stretton and Burbage St Catherines and Lash Hill with Winstanley, Ravenhurst and Fosse and Millfield moving to Leicester West.

You can view the proposals and maps by the links below.


A hard copy of the proposals can be viewed at the main council offices in Narborough.

How to have your say

The Boundary Commission for England, who are proposing the changes, are asking for your views, in particular:

  • If you agree in full, in part or not at all with their initial proposals for the East Midlands region.
  • Which sub-regions you agree with and why.
  • Which sub-regions you disagree with and why.
  • If you can propose alternatives for areas you disagree with that meet the statutory rules as set out in the report.

External websites



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.